a story

The context of tensions  (economical difficulties, political powerlessness, environment emergency) and the deep transformation of our profession (development of alternative production modes - conception-realization, PPP-, necessity of large expertises due to the growth complexity of the created object), are a major challenge for architects.

This challenge needs two essential qualities : tenacity and agility. They suggest, within education in Architecture Schools, a primary base : agility, expressed through the complementarity of disciplines present in the architecture field. And tenacity, revealed by the enthusiasm these foundation years have conveyed.

Urged to defy their theoretical knowledge with reality, Mathieu Chazelle, Simon Pallubicki, and Brice Piechaczyk, choose to associate, convinced of the energy that the collective imbues and of the fruitful confrontation of ideas.

Thus was founded in 2003, Enia architectes.

Using our previous professional experiences as a support to our architecture training (Simon worked for many years as a cabinetmaker, Brice and Mathieu as engineers), we decided to simultaneously invest several areas of our discipline: in project management of course, but as well in teaching (Brice at l’Ecole Polytechnique, Mathieu at the Architecture School of Paris Val-de-Seine and Simon at the Architecture School of Paris Belleville) and in applied research.  


a time relationship

Enia’s projects stand the test of time: it might be 30, 50 or 100 years before the users begin to re-question their existence. However and since the last 30 years, our society is experiencing a transformation spur: communication, movements, leisures, work, networks… Aware of this rapid alteration of the world, the users and the means to inhabit the city, Enia architects searches the notion of durability regarding the role of the architect: to plan and materialize the future.

Given the risks of a premature obsolescence of the city, our responsibility as architects is humongous: we must create harmonious living conditions in a resourceful reasoned economy.

We protect the idea that this responsibility extends to all building composing the City, regardless of their function or size, and that all deserve ambition and efforts. Thus, all the projects of enia architects have an indisputable obligation towards integration but as well malleability in order to resist the projected obsolescence, ruining the post-carbon City. 


experiencing space

To design a space is to respond, in the most honest and generous way, to an expectation. It is to listen, analyze and understand the need of the future users with regard to offer them a place of living and well-being.

We guard the idea that the research towards optimal functionality; which is the sine qua non condition of all of our projects, remains closely linked to architectural sensibility. It is only with respect to light and materials that we conceive space: we believe that it is in the purity of a plan or a section that poetry emerges.

une histoire

Le contexte de tension (difficultés économiques, impuissance politique, urgence environnementale) et les profondes mutations que connaît notre profession (développement des modes alternatifs de production – conception-réalisation, PPP -, multiplication des compétences et expertises rendue nécessaire par la complexité croissante de l’objet construit), sont pour nous, architectes, un défi majeur.

Il suppose deux qualités essentielles : l’agilité et la ténacité. Celles-ci trouvent, dans l’enseignement des écoles d’architecture un premier socle solide : l’agilité, par la complémentarité des disciplines que cette formation embrasse ; la ténacité, par l’enthousiasme formidable transmis par ces années fondatrices.

Pressés de confronter ce bagage théorique à la réalité, Mathieu Chazelle, Simon Pallubicki, et Brice Piechaczyk, choisissent de s’associer, convaincus de l’énergie que le collectif insuffle, et de la fructueuse confrontation des idées.

L’agence enia architectes naît ainsi en 2003.

Tout en nous appuyant sur nos expériences professionnelles antérieures à notre formation d’architecte (Simon a exercé de nombreuses années le métier d’ébéniste, Brice et Mathieu celui d’ingénieur), nous décidons d’investir simultanément plusieurs champs de notre discipline : celui de la maîtrise d’œuvre bien-sûr, mais également celui de l’enseignement (Brice à l’Ecole Polytechnique, Mathieu à l’Ecole d’Architecture de Paris Val-de-Seine, Simon à à l’Ecole d’Architecture de Paris Belleville) et de la recherche appliquée.


un rapport au temps

Les projets de l’agence s’inscrivent dans la durée : il faudra peut être 30, 50 ou 100 ans avant que leurs utilisateurs ne réinterrogent leur existence.Or depuis 30 ans nos sociétés vivent une mutation accélérée: communication, déplacements, loisirs, travail, réseaux…. Consciente de cette transformation accélérée du monde, des usages et de la manière d'habiter la ville, l'agence enia architectes réfléchit à la notion de pérennité au regard de ce qui détermine la fonction de l'architecte : projeter, matérialiser le futur.

Face au risque d’une obsolescence prématurée des villes, notre responsabilité d'architectes est immense : nous devons créer les conditions d’un vivre ensemble serein, dans une économie raisonnée de ressources. 

Nous défendons l'idée que cette responsabilité s'étend à l'ensemble des bâtiments fabriquant la Ville, quelles que soient leur fonction ou leur taille, et que tous méritent ambition et effort.  Tous les projets de l'agence ont ainsi un évident devoir d'insertion, mais également de plasticité, pour résister à cette obsolescence programmée, qui ruine la ville post-carbone. 


vivre l'espace

Concevoir l'espace, c'est répondre, de la manière la plus juste et généreuse, à une attente. C'est écouter, analyser et comprendre les besoins des utilisateurs futurs, pour leur proposer un lieu de vie et de confort.

Nous défendons l'idée que la recherche de cette fonctionnalité optimale - qui est la condition sine qua non de tous nos projets - demeure intimement liée à l'émotion architecturale. Nous ne concevons l’espace que dans son rapport à la lumière et à la matière : nous pensons que c’est au cœur de la pureté d’un plan ou d’une coupe que naît la poésie.